New council administration appointed

May 19, 2023

A new Conservative administration has been appointed to lead Southend-on-Sea City Council after being voted in at Full Council meeting on 18th May 2023

At the recent local elections, no party gained the required majority to lead the council outright. However, the Conservative Party has 22 seats and have formed a minority administration.

Cllr Tony Cox is therefore the new Leader of the Council and after appointing his cabinet at the meeting, said: “I am honoured to be the new Leader of the Council and along with my new cabinet look forward to serving the residents and businesses of the great City of Southend-on-Sea.

“We all want the best for our new City and this new administration under my leadership will work hard to ensure that we provide stability to the council and move forwards in the best interests of residents, businesses and visitors.”

The new cabinet is as follows:


Cllr Tony Cox,

Leader of the Council - SEND

Cllr Meg Davidson,

Deputy Leader of the Council - Environment

Cllr Daniel Nelson - Economic Growth and Investment

Cllr James Moyies - Adult Social Care, Health, Public Health and Constitutional Affairs

Cllr Kevin Buck - Highways, Transport and Parking

Cllr Helen Boyd - Children’s Services, Education and Learning

Cllr James Courtenay - Community Safety and Public Protection

Cllr David Garston - Housing and Planning

Cllr Derek Jarvis - Arts, Culture, Heritage, and Leisure

Cllr John Lamb - Regulatory Services

Appointments to the various committees were also formally agreed. These will be viewable under the meeting agenda this week.


Note: If comment section is not showing please log in to Facebook in another browser tab and refresh.