New council administration appointed Monday 20th May 2024

May 21, 2024

A new administration has been appointed to lead Southend-on-Sea City Council after being voted in at Full Council meeting on Monday 20th May.

At the recent local elections, no party gained the required majority to lead the council outright. However, the Labour Party has 20 seats and have formed a joint administration with the Independent and Liberal Democrat groups.

Councillor Daniel Cowan is therefore the new Leader of the Council and after appointing his cabinet at the meeting, said: “I am honoured to be the new Leader of the Council and along with my new cabinet look forward to serving the residents and businesses of the great City of Southend-on-Sea.

“We all want the best for our City and this new administration under my leadership will work hard to ensure that we provide stability to the council and move forwards in the best interests of residents, businesses and visitors.”

The new cabinet is as follows:

Cllr Daniel Cowan, leader of the council and cabinet member for infrastructure and corporate strategy

Cllr Anne Jones, deputy leader of the council and cabinet member for planning and housing

Cllr Laurie Burton, cabinet member for children, young people and SEND

Cllr Ian Gilbert, cabinet member for regeneration, major projects, and regulatory services

Cllr Matt Dent, cabinet member for culture, tourism, and business

Cllr Lydia Hyde, cabinet member for climate, environment, and waste

Cllr Maxine Sadza, cabinet member for social care and healthier communities

Cllr Paul Collins, cabinet member for finance, assets and investments

Cllr Martin Terry, cabinet member for community safety


Note: If comment section is not showing please log in to Facebook in another browser tab and refresh.